DAVID R. OBEY, WISCONSIN, CHAIRMAN JOHN P. MURTHA, PENNSYLVANIA NORMAN D. DICKS, WASHINGTON ALAN B. MOLLOHAN, WEST VIRGINIA MARCY KAPTUR, OHIO PETER J. VISCLOSKY, INDIANA NITA M. LOWEY, NEW YORK NITA M. LOWEY, NEW YORK ROSA L. DELAURO, CONNECTICUT JAMES P. MORAN, VIRGINIA JOHN W. OLVER, MASSACHUSETTS ED PASTOR, ARIZONA DAVID E. PRICE, NORTH CAROLINA CHET EOWARDS, TEXAS PATRICS J. RENNEDY, RHODE ISLAND MAURICE D. HINCHEY, NEW YORK LUCILLE ROYBAL-ALLARD, CALIFORNIA SAM FARR, CALIFORNIA JESSE L. JACKSON, JR., ILLINOIS CAROLYN C. KILPATRICK, MICHIGAN ALLEN BOYD, FLORIDA SAMFORD D. BISHOP, JR., GEORGIA MARION BERRY, ARKANSAS BARBARA LEE, CALIFORNIA STEVEN R. ROTHMAN, NEW JERSEY SANFORD D. BISHOP, JR., GEORGIA MARION BERRY, ARKANSAS BARBARA LEE, CALIFORNIA STEVEN R. ROTHMAN, NEW JENSEY SANFORD D. BISHOP, JR., GEORGIA MARION BERRY, ARKANSAS BARBARA LEE, CALIFORNIA STEVEN R. ROTHMAN, NEW JENSEY SANFORD D. BISHOP, JR., GEORGIA MARION BERRY, ARKANSAS BARBARA LEE, CALIFORNIA BETTY MCOLULUM, MINNESOTA STEVE ISRAEL, NEW YORK TIM RYAN, OHIO C.A. "DUTCI" RUPPERSBERGER, MARYLAND BEN CHANDLER, KENTUCKY DEBBIE WASSERMAN SCHULTZ, FLORIDA CIRO RODRIGUEZ, TEXAS LINCOLN DAVIS, TENNESSEE JONN T. SALAZAR, COLORADO

Congress of the United States

House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations Washington, DC 20515-6015

April 2, 2009

JERRY LEWIS, CALIFORNIA C. W. BILL YOUNG, FLORIDA HAROLO ROGERS, KENTUCKY FRANK R, WOLF, VIRGINIA JACK KINGGERS, KENTUCKY FRANK R, WOLF, VIRGINIA ADACK KINGSTON, GEORGIA RODNEY P. FRELINGHUYSEN, NEW JERSEY TODD TIAHRT, KANSAS ZACH WAMP, TENNESSEE TOM LATHAM, IOWA ROBERT B. ADERHOLT, ALABAMA JO ANN EMERSON, MISSOURI KAY GRANGER, TEXAS MICHAEL K. SIMPSON, IDAHO JOHN ABNEY CULBERSON, TEXAS ANDER CRENSHAW, FLORIDA DENNIS R, REHBERG, MONTANA JOHN R. CARTER, TEXAS RODNEY ALEXANDER, LOUISIANA KEN CALVERT, CALIFORNIA JO BONNER, ALABAMA STEVEN C. LATOURETTE, OHIO TOM COLE, OKLAHOMA

> CLERK AND STAFF DIRECTOR BEVERLY PHETO

> > TELEPHONE: (202) 225~2771

Hon. Robert I. Cusick Director Office of Government Ethics Suite 500 1201 New York Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20005

Dear Director Cusick:

I am writing in response to your letter of March 24, 2009, requesting approval for the Office of Government Ethics (OGE) to retain 50 percent of remaining fiscal year 2008 unobligated balances as permitted under section 611 of the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2008 (P.L. 110-161). The funds that would be available to OGE total \$35,930.

The Committee understands that OGE intends to use \$30,000 to obtain the services of a public accounting firm to conduct an annual financial audit of OGE in accordance with the Accountability of Tax Dollars Act of 2002. The remaining \$5,930 will be used for travel costs related to reviewing agency ethics programs.

The Committee has reviewed your request and has no objection. Accordingly, your request is approved.

Sincerely

José E. Serrano Chairman Subcommittee on Financial Services and General Government